Sweet Carrot Pie

While Caed was napping, I decided to whip up another batch of baby food, this time something a little sweeter… and not green. Scouring the fridge to see what I had on hand, I found some left over carrots from when we had the Shepard’s Pie that I adapted from Elana’s Pantry (amazing btw) and some sweet potatoes left over from the Caveman Casserole from the Civilized Caveman (equally amazing). Perfect! I began chopping and grabbed a little Pumpkin Pie Spice:

Homemade baby food is so simple… so easy a baby could do it! Well, the baby was napping, so I continued on my own. I added both veggies to the steamer basket and steamed them for about 5 minutes.

When they were done I poured them into the blender cup and sprinkled them with a little pumpkin pie spice.

As I tried to blend them together an air bubble formed around the blades and so I had a little puree at the bottom and lots of big chunks still at the top. So, I took the blending cup off and added 2oz of breast milk. That did the trick. I hit blend again and this happened:

Woah! It looked and smelled awesome. I tired a little bit, don’t judge, it was pretty awesome. If it didn’t have my boobie juice in it, you’d want some too. I set aside enough Sweet Carrot Pie so that Caed could try some and then I put the rest into a freezer storage container.

(I have since pulled this container out of the freezer and sent some to school with Caed the last two days.) He literally “cleaned his plate” the two times I offered it after nursing him during our day off together! Just like breastfeeding, it’s almost as if he already knows what to do. He’s a pro… or he just loves food as much as his Mommy. “Show mommy how the piggies eat!”

Later this week I’ll post our experience. Here’s a clue… it was a HUGE hit!

What should we try next? Roasted garlic and peas? Acorn squash laced with cardamom? Oh the possibilities…

Leave a Reply

