The Perfect Scrambled Eggs

IMG_8634

Wakey wakey, eggs and bakey! I see a lot of people inquiring on some paleo Facebook pages as to what else they can make for breakfast because they just can’t. eat. another. egg. I get that. There are days when I don’t think I could eat another egg. On those days I’ll usually make myself a green smoothie, they’re refreshing and seem to break up the monotony quite well. My son, on the other hand, has eaten eggs for breakfast almost every day since he started solids. At 18 months he is eating 3-4 eggs a day. Thankfully, John Crow Farm supplies us with 8 dozen eggs a month along with our meat and poultry CSA. (When we signed up for veggies this month, we added an additional 2 dozen, starting in June we’ll receive 10 dozen!) Recently I started making extra of my smoothies to share with him. He loved it! However, he still requested eggs and banana. “Buuuh!!” Oh well, I can’t deny a little caveman. Honestly, this recipe is so delicious that I happily welcome eggs back into my life 3 to 4 times a week. It’s a grand reunion because these are the perfect scrambled eggs. Do you know how to make the perfect scrambled egg? I didn’t. For years I was doing it wrong, thinking that they should be a quick and easy breakfast. All this time while eating dry, rubbery eggs with a splash of milk to make them “fluffy” I had no idea what I was missing. Now I do. Let me introduce you to the most delicious scrambled eggs you will ever eat.

IMG_8632

Get together:

  • 3 eggs, preferably pastured from your local farmer
  • 3 Tbsp butter (I highly recommend Kerrygold)

And then you:

  1. Break 3 eggs into a saucepan over low heat.
  2. Add 1 Tbsp of butter
  3. Mix eggs gently with a rubber spatula until butter is incorporated
  4. Repeat steps 2 and 3 for remaining 2 Tbsp of butter.
  5. Fold eggs slowly as they come together (it should take 15-20 minutes to reach this step).
  6. When the eggs look “almost” done, remove them from the heat.
  7. Allow the eggs to continue cooking in the pan as you gently fold them.
  8. Add a pinch of sea salt and chives if you wish.
  9. Enjoy!

IMG_8633

Add a side of pastured bacon and some fruit and you’ve got a breakfast fit for a king toddler!

IMG_8714

 

One thought on “The Perfect Scrambled Eggs

Leave a Reply

